Don’t Pay to go to a Gym!

image: crazymomjournal.wordpress.com

image: crazymomjournal.wordpress.com

Join me in doing the squat challenge. I’m on day 18 today. You can do squats while you watch TV or while you work at the computer. I took photos along the way so that I can chart my progress. Who wouldn’t want a nice butt? So far, I am seeing improvement after just a little over 2 weeks of this. It only takes about 7 minutes a day. Who doesn’t have 7 minutes?

DAY 29: I am not happy with the results. I look for perfection. It has increased muscle mass for sure adding a bit of shape. My thighs are like an inch bigger around! However, the fat has stayed which is something I do not want. Now I am going to continue the squats at 150 per day with a break every fourth day, but add another element to decrease the amount of fat. I thought I might have some added fat from eating before bed. However, eating before bed helps me to sleep. I also read an article that explains this is a myth anyway. You just don’t want to reach for dessert foods like ice cream. Even popcorn with butter is fine before bed – even beneficial. Eating meat before bed can help repair your worked muscles. See the article here. Since I am happy with the overall shape, I am only looking to reduce fat at this point. To do this I am going to focus my next month on my diet (what foods I eat) and also add more fun physical activities to my schedule. If the results are still not enough after this next month, I will add more exercise (30 minutes a day, 5 days a week). Dancing, running, and hiking would be good options.

To lose 1 pound of fat, you need to reduce or burn 3,500 calories. To do this I will:

  • Monitor portion sizes, but not so drastically that it slows metabolism. Women should eat no less than 1,200 calories per day and men – 1,500. I’m going to track my calories at www.myfitnesspal.com which is a free service.
  • Cut out junk food. I’m going to try to eat more whole meats, fruits, and veggies (if some bread products slip in – that’s fine). I am going to focus mainly on a 1,200 calorie diet.

For hundreds of money and time saving techniques that show results consider Living Big on a Small Income, The Classy Cheapskate Way!

Leave a Reply

